My Journey So Far

Before 2020 I was lost and had no idea what I wanted to pursue with a passion when it came to having a career. I was in a very soul sucking labor job being overworked and feeling trapped.

In January of 2020 I quit that job, took a trip to Japan for a few weeks and enrolled into Coder Academy located in Sydney excited for a fresh start and a clear mindset.

My course was a 6 month fast track Diploma of IT certification which is a very sink or swim type of learning. I have always loved learning new things and coding is one of those tools which never gets old or boring due to the advancement of technology every day. I decided on this course because I wanted my foot into the tech industry as fast as possible so I can network and meet new people!

Sadly the Corona Virus hit right in the middle of the course which took away all developer social meetings and any chance of networking I could have done. I still passed the course with a credit-distinction average and now had the skillset to dive into any language and take up any challenge by adapting to what was needed.

Over the course of the next year I would do 2 online internships which were both 3 months long. The disconnect created by remote work between the interns and the developers was frustrating but I pushed along and sponged up any knowledge they had to give. My internship partner even quit the first few weeks because he thought it was too hard!

Fast forward to today where the vaccinated population is now at 80 percent and it looks like the in person networking side of the tech industry will be in full swing for 2022.

I do not feel like I have been doing nothing even if I haven't been earning money. Now that I have dropped 40 kilos the past 6 months, solidified my foundations of web development through 2 remote internships and also kept myself sane by being productive in the world of creativity and art. I am very excited for the future and for what 2022 has in store